DECEMBER 2014 WRAP-UP! (WITH BUDGET PICTURES!)

I seem to be on this pretty early this month. We’ll see how long it sticks!

Click on the thumbnails to see the full budget photos:

DecShot1     DecShot2

 

This PearBudget spreadsheet really makes it easy to see where I’m spending money. Also of note, some individual things like rent, insurance, etc. aren’t listed here – but are all conglomerated under “regular expenses” in the second picture. Biggest thing of note, I was over budget by -$360.61. This is primarily due to Christmas shopping. I didn’t create a separate account for Christmas gifts, but that’s a goal for 2015 – paying for Christmas in cash. The goal is to start a small weekly deposit with my first paycheck of this year. Stay tuned!

Now, by category:

Housecare: OVER -$44.94 – Again, not terribly over, but I did use more electricity this past month due to colder temperatures.

Groceries: UNDER $19.22 – This is a win! I did this last month as well!

Dining Out: OVER -$137.46 – I know I always struggle here. This is something I need to really crack down on this month.

Car Gas: UNDER $54.55 – I did this last month too! I’m not sure how, but I’m ok with it.

Haircuts: $000000 – It’s worth noting that I’ve pulled this out of my 2015 monthly budget. 🙂

Miscellaneous: OVER -$44.94 – This is a little surprising to me since it also matches my Housecare numbers.


GOALS SET FOR DECEMBER:

  1. Make at least $200 in side hustle cash. – PASS!
  2. ELIMINATE THAT PESKY STORE CARD. – FAIL, but I’m closer.
  3. Stay under $100 dining out budget. – FAIL
  4. Stay under budget for gas AND groceries again. – PASS!

GOALS FOR JANUARY:

I’m not going to set any specific goals for just this month, but I did set my 2015 goals!


My holiday season/2014 finally winds down on Sunday and my whole life opens up to the possibilities of 2015 and beyond! I’m ready to see where I’m going!

Are you finally transitioning financially into 2015? Did 2014 wrap up well for your bank accounts?

*Part of Financially Savvy Saturdays on brokeGIRLrich and Autoimmune-Protocolling Around the World*

5 thoughts on “DECEMBER 2014 WRAP-UP! (WITH BUDGET PICTURES!)

  1. Man, food costs get me every time — I’m finally making real progress on that front but it took me about six months to bash a really workable system into place. I’m also starting my Christmas saving early this year. Looks like you’re setting up well for 2015!

    1. I struggle with food costs as well. Primarily because I tend to go out for lunch on work days. I’ve cut it back to two days a week, but my goal this year is to cut that in half.

  2. I’m excited to get back to contributing to my IRA. I feel so victorious when I max it out, but then I also feel like I don’t really know what to do.

  3. The biggest impact on my budget the last few months has been the plummet in gas prices. I work about 60 miles from home and fill up eight times a month. Earlier this year, I was budgeting $400/month in gas. Now, that amount has been cut in half. What to do with the extra money? My emergency savings is growing pretty fast, so the extra money is going straight to reducing my debt.

Have something to share?

